1000 Bike Show 2011

Hosted by The Classic Motorcycle Club

part of the crowd on Saturday - shot from the top of the BikeSA truck

July in Germiston is time for the annual 1000 Bike Show, with many Jews and Gentiles attending the exhibition and see all the Jap and German bikes...

and of course the thousands of other brands as well.

Dennis (big Honda fan), Robbie, Caroline, Lohan, Corne, Robin, Shirley and Daryl

came to visit me at the BikeSA truck


2011 was even bigger and better than ever before, with near perfect winter weather. Pierre Cronje, chairman of The Classic Motorcycle Club (the hosts), said there were about 9,000 people through the gates on both days. They had just over 400 Classic motorcycles inside the big tent. On Sunday the count outside in the bike parking area they counted 1,056 bikes. There were more than 70 trade stalls and the music was provided by Band-o-Gypsies.

The CMC 1000 Bike Show is always a joyous event, but this year seemed to be more joyous and festive, with the thousands of enthusiastic motorcyclists meeting old friends, having something to eat, drinking a beer or two admiring all the bikes, both old and new, and basically just getting together, having fun in the sun, as only bikers know how to do.

They say a picture says a thousand words... so Iím not gonna babble on, feast your eyes

Very lekker Moto Guzzi 1000 Daytona

two Classic Honda 750 Fours

an almost daily used Vincent Black-Prince was there... need I say more?


Words and pics by Kenn Slater


Results for Classic Concours

Best Stand


Best Commercial Stand

Harley Davidson

Best On Show

Richard Salt                  Norton Commando

Ladies Choice

Peter Hall                      1922 Matchless Combination

Best Newcomer

1st  Ralph Pitchford         1926 Triumph

2nd Japie Roux               1979 BMW R45

3rd  Richard Salt             Norton Dominator

Best Past Winner

1st  Fred Tofts                1946 AJS

2nd Greg vd Merwe          1959 Jawa CZ175

3rd  Bob Hooper              Puch 250 GS

Best Post Vintage up to 1945

1st  Kevin Robertson       1935 Excelsior Manxman

2nd Theo van Rensburg    Harley Davidson

Best Classic from 1946 to 1960

1st  Fred Tofts                1946 AJS

2nd Richard Salt              Norton Dominator

3rd Greg vd Merwe         1959 Jawa CZ175

Best Post Classic from 1961 to 1970

1st  Bruce Thomas          1970 Triumph Bonneville

2nd Robert Howes          1969 Suzuki AS50

3rd Pieter Snyman           1964 Zundapp

Best New Era

1st Richard Salt              Norton Commando

2nd Japie Roux               1979 BMW R45

3rd Robert Hallaby          Kawasaki Z750

Best Unrestored

1st Andre Cilliers             BMW R100RS

2nd Barney Barnes          1982 Ducati 600 Desmo

3rd Keith Watson            BMW R100RS

Most Authentic Classic

1st Fred Tofts                 1946 AJS

2nd Bruce Thomas          1970 Triumph Bonneville

3rd Aylwin Stephenson    1927 Rex-Acme

Most Authentic Post Classic

1st Japie Roux                1979 BMW R45

2nd Pieter Snyman          1964 Zundapp

3rd Barney Barnes          Norton Roadster

Best Combination

1st John Kowalski           BMW R67/2

2nd Bert Eva                   BMW R50

3rd Erhard Langanke       BMW R60/2

Best DJ

1st Harry Kirton              1930 Ariel Model F

2nd Ralph Pitchford         1926 Triumph

3rd Aylwin Stephenson    1929 Dunelt

Best Road Competition

1st Kevin Robertson        1935 Excelsior Manxman

2nd Ian Groat                  Norton Manxman

3rd Aylwin Stephenson    1927 Rex-Acme

Best Off Road

1st Gareth Ireland            Kawasaki KX500

2nd Andrew Clark           Suzuki RM 465

3rd Gareth Ireland            Maico GS 490

Best Military

1st Ian Howie                  BMW R75 Combination

Best AMC

1st Fred Tofts                 1946 AJS

2nd Ian Groat                  McIntyre 7R

Best Ariel

1st Harry Kirton               1930 Ariel Model F

Best BMW

1st Roly Tilman               BMW R50/2

2nd Martin Stolz              BMW R67/2

3rd Keith Watson            BMW R100RS

Best BSA

1st Mike Longley 1957     BSA DBD34 GS

2nd Derek Lockwood       1958 BSA DBD34 GS

3rd Graham Kendall          1968 BSA B44SS

Best Harley Davidson

1st Theo van Rensburg    Harley Davidson

Best Honda

1st Eddie Hellyar              1980 Honda CBX 1000

2nd Gordon Engelbrechct 1972 Honda CB 750 K2

3rd Dave Carroll               1972 Honda ss50GT

Best Italian

1st Edgar Bradley           Ducati 125 Sport

2nd Kevin Shadwell        Moto Guzzi 850 Le Mans Mk II

3rd Phil Skinner               Moto Guzzi V7

Best Kawasaki

1st Robert Hallaby           1976 Kawasaki Z750

2nd Tyrone Edwards        1985 Kawasaki KR250

3rd Dean Nicolam            1979 Kawasaki 1000ST

Best Jawa

1st Greg vd Merwe          1959 Jawa CZ175

2nd Greg vd Merwe         1956 Jawa CZ175

3rd Gavin Dick                 1953 Jawa CZ

Best Norton

1st Richard Salt               Norton Commando

2nd Jon Lewis                 Norton Dominator

3rd Ian Groat                  Norton Manx

Best Royal Enfield

1st Eddy de Ras             1962 Royal Enfield Big Head Bullet

2nd Blaize Rawlins          1953 Royal Enfield 350

Best Suzuki

1st Robert Howes            1969 Suzuki AS50

2nd Greg Schneeberger    Suzuki

3rd Alan Green                1981 Suzuki GSX1000

Best Triumph

1st Bruce Thomas            1970 Triumph Bonneville

2nd Rod Bennett              1969 Triumph Bonnevill

3rd Darryl Barlow            1953 Triumph Tiger T100

Best Velocette

1st Des Burton                Velocette Venom

2nd Barney Barnes          Velocette MAC 350

Best Yamaha

1st Robert Howes           1974 Yamaha FS1

2nd Steven Gillingham     1987 Yamaha XT 500

3rd R Robert Howes       1974 Yamaha FS1

Best Puch

1st Bob Hooper            Puch 250 GS

2nd Pat Barnes              Puch 125

3rd Pat Barnes               Puch 125

Best Zundapp

1st Pieter Snyman          1964 Zundapp

2nd Jacques Snyman      1970 Zundapp Racer

3rd Pieter Snyman          1974 Zundapp Water Cooled


Results for Customized Concours

Best on Show

Jan Olivier                     2010 Suzuki B. King

Best Paintwork

Jan Olivier                     2010 Suzuki B. King

Best Engineering

Nick Pramatarov           2010 Tyramus Trike

Best Standard

1st Randall Norman         1982 Suzuki Katana

2nd Doug Moss               1996 Triumph Sprint

Best Street Modified

1st Peter Mason             2007 Suzuki Hayabusa

2nd Jay vd Berg             1982 Suzuki Katana

3rd Shaun Senekal          1982 Suzuki Katana

Best Street Fighter

1st Hannes Conradie      1974 Kawasaki

2nd Paul Kotze               1978 Kawasaki

Best Cruiser

1st Ben vd Merwe           2007 Suzuki Boulevard

2nd Senna Herbst            2007 Suzuki Boulevard

Best Custom

1st Jan Olivier                  2010 Suzuki B. King

2nd Gerhard Conradie     1976 Kawasaki Z1

Best Trike

1st Nick Pramatarov        2010 Tyramus Trike

2nd Jan Botha                  2006 Honda Goldwing Trike

3rd Danny Madley           1984 BMW Trike

Best RAT

1st Pieter Roodt                2000 Suzuki

Best Harley

1st Deon vd Berg 2007    Harley Davidson Night Train

2nd Ivan Kruger               1972 Harley Davidson Shovel